BEETHOVEN'S UNIVERSE - The Architects of Music

Beethoven's Universe - Symphony No. 5 in C minor
1st MovementPart 1-2

The mighty Fifth Symphony and its iconic 4-note motif

The Architects of Music I  Narration by Lawrence Rapchak

  • The 4-note motif expands!


In this section, we show that Beethoven begins to elaborate on and expand the four-note theme, taking it into new realms, including “mysterious murmurings” and heart-rending “appoggiaturas.” And we hear how Beethoven “extends the melody” but with the four-note theme still being listened to in the background. Finally, this section ends with the dramatic conclusion of the exposition.

P-C 0210102 Beethoven 5th Symphony – Part 1.2 ultima modifica: da iClassical Foundation